Tortellini-Broccoli Salad

This tortellini broccoli salad was very refreshing and satisfying. I found there to be a nice textural balance between the soft pasta and the crunchy vegetables.

Ingredients

Garlic Vinaigrette
1/4 cup cider or balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon chopped fresh or 1 teaspoon dried basil leaves
2 tablespoons olive or vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
Salad
1 package (7 ounces) cheese-filled tortellini
1 medium carrot, sliced (1/2 cup)
2 cups broccoli flowerets
2 medium green onions, sliced (2 tablespoons)

Directions

  1. In tightly covered container, shake all vinaigrette ingredients.
  2. Cook and drain tortellini as directed on package. Rinse with cold water; drain.
  3. In large glass or plastic bowl, mix carrot, broccoli, onions and vinaigrette. Add tortellini; toss until evenly coated. Cover and refrigerate at least 1 hour to blend flavors but no longer than 24 hours.

Source: Tortellini-Broccoli Salad

My additional notes:

  • The other reviews on the site were quite negative; take these with a grain of salt! It seems that these reviewers do not like broccoli and/or balsamic vinegar, which are two main components of the dish!
  • I used Giant Eagle frozen cheese tortellinis when I made it, and I was pleased with how they turned out (despite accidentally tearing up the cooking instructions when I opened the bag. My advice to you is to take note of where instructions like this may be, before completely tearing into a bag of these (or of anything, really)).
  • I didn’t cool the pasta with cold water, as the recipe suggested. I’ve seen chefs get yelled at on my favorite Food Network show “Chopped” for doing that. Apparently it removes the starches from the outside of the pasta. I will stick with the experts from “Chopped” for now, but proceed as you wish!
  • I chopped my broccoli VERY finely (much more so than in the picture) and liked it that way. I also chopped my carrots quite small. I would definitely stick with this approach next time as well.
  • I’m curious about the note in the recipe to not let the tortellini sit for more than 24 hours. I ate mine over a 3-4 day span with no problems. I actually thought the dish tasted better AFTER 24 hours, when the ingredients had more time to absorb the balsamic vinegar.
  • I was very excited to try out my brand new GARLIC PRESS for this recipe. I think it’s official that I’m into cooking; I’m excited about a garlic press. Anyway, it worked out great, and it was fun to watch the garlic ooze out of the thing.

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in 4/5 stars, Eganita Kitchen Approved, Side Dish, Vegetarian Friendly. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tortellini-Broccoli Salad

  1. Lauren says:

    Garlic presses are so great! They, along with good knives, are the best things to happen to kitchens. Mincing garlic with a knife is good, but I find this so much easier / faster.

Leave a Reply

