Pumpkin Pancakes

I went to a Rotary Club fundraiser breakfast with some co-workers a few months ago.  After seeing pancakes would be provided by Pamela’s and coffee would be provided by Tazza D’ Oro, that was enough for me to attend (mostly swayed by the former). Upon arriving at the event, we realized they had both regular and PUMPKIN pancakes. My god, those pumpkin pancakes were fantastic! I had somehow pushed the thought of them out of my mind, until I came across a pumpkin pancake recipe on All Recipes:

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. In a bowl, mix together the milk, pumpkin, egg, oil and vinegar. Combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, allspice, cinnamon, ginger and salt in a separate bowl. Stir into the pumpkin mixture just enough to combine.
  2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

Source: Pumpkin Pancakes

I am looking forward to trying this sometime soon! I generally try to eat a healthy breakfast, but I am willing to sacrifice some extra calories on these things, for sure.

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Need To Try. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Charla says:

    Not to encourage laziness, BUT, Trader Joe’s has a very tasty pumpkin pancake mix and I think it is available year round. Delish, if you don’t want the from scratch approach….and I know you (like me) love your pumpkin:)

    • eganita eats says:

      That’s a great idea. Maybe I will try that out for the first round, if I can’t find the motivation to make it from scratch! It’s nice to know I have a back-up plan at least! YUM.

  2. Lauren says:

    This has been my favorite pumpkin pancake recipe for as long as I can remember. Since they’re what I grew up with, other pumpkin pancakes that don’t have the oatmeal in them seem weird to me. I do like the oatmeal addition, though – it gives the pancake a nice, toothy bite to it. If your recipe yields a fluffy pancake, let me know!

    Sue Conner’s (my mom) adaptation of Jan Brody’s Pumpkin-Oat Pancakes
    (original recipe: http://thewelltrainedkitchen.wordpress.com/2006/11/17/pumpkin-oat-pancakes-posted-by-julie-in-ak/)

    Wet ingredients:

    1/2 c.rolled oats
    1 c. buttermilk
    1 egg white
    1 whole egg
    1 T. Oil
    1/2 c. pumpkin puree
    1/2 c. milk

    Dry ingredients:
    1/2 cup whole wheat flour
    1/2 c. all-purpose flour
    1 T. sugar
    1t. baking pdr.
    1/2 baking soda
    1/4 t. cinnnamon

    1) Combine oats and buttermilk, and let stand for ~ 15 minutes.
    2) Add remaining wet ingredients.
    3) Combine dry ingredients, then stir into wet ingredients, then fry those suckers up!

    *To avoid purchasing buttermilk, it can be substituted by adding 1 T of white vinegar to 1 C of milk, and then letting that clabber (curdle) for 10 minutes.

    • eganita eats says:

      Wow, that sounds really good too. It sounds like I have quite a few great pumpkin options! You and your mom seem like quite the chefs, Lauren! Maybe you should open a restaurant together! 🙂

      • eganita eats says:

        Also, I will let you know what happens with the recipe I posted. One of the reviewers on All Recipes said that adding an additional egg helped with fluffiness. Fluffiness is essential for pancakes!

  3. Lauren says:

    A trick for fluffiness too, as I discovered with this AMAZING waffle recipe I tried a few weeks ago (http://smittenkitchen.com/2007/03/again-with-the-pining/) is to separate the eggs and then whip the whites before you fold them into the rest of the batter. You add them last so that there is the least amount of time for them to deflate.

    • theorbo says:

      smittenkitchen … is there ANYTHING that she makes that doesn’t look and sound amazing?!!! thanks for pointing out this recipe.

Leave a Reply

