Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

I’m generally a fan of pulled pork, and I found out a certain picky-eater boyfriend likes it too. Someone suggested using a mix of Italian dressing and BBQ sauce to create a good pulled pork sauce. While I do enjoy that less labor-intensive approach, I prefer the flavor of the below recipe (and it’s really not too difficult to put together, either).  It’s really interesting how ingredients such as mustard and brown sugar come together to form a great BBQ taste.

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil
  • 1 (4 pound) pork shoulder roast
  • 1 cup barbeque sauce
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon prepared yellow mustard
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 extra large onion, chopped
  • 2 large cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried thyme
  • 8 hamburger buns, split
  • 2 tablespoons butter, or as needed

Directions

  1. Pour the vegetable oil into the bottom of a slow cooker. Place the pork roast into the slow cooker; pour in the barbecue sauce, apple cider vinegar, and chicken broth. Stir in the brown sugar, yellow mustard, Worcestershire sauce, chili powder, onion, garlic, and thyme. Cover and cook on High until the roast shreds easily with a fork, 5 to 6 hours.
  2. Remove the roast from the slow cooker, and shred the meat using two forks. Return the shredded pork to the slow cooker, and stir the meat into the juices.
  3. Spread the inside of both halves of hamburger buns with butter. Toast the buns, butter side down, in a skillet over medium heat until golden brown. Spoon pork into the toasted buns.

Source: Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

My additional notes:

  • I made the recipe pretty much as-is. Perhaps as I become more familiar with how these flavors blend together, I will start playing around with it a bit more.
  • I don’t really like the idea of added butter on the buns; I think the pulled pork and bread have enough flavor on their own. I’ve also eaten the pulled pork on a tortilla with low fat cheese, sour cream, some salsa, and vegetables (a sort of knock-off of a Qdoba burrito that I enjoy).
  • It’s also fine to cook this on low using the rule 2 hours low = 1 hour high. In theory, I would think slow cooking would keep more of the flavors in the pork, but it has tasted just fine on high.
  • I have used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and it was fine that way (and perhaps a bit healthier).
  • The first time I made this, I diced up the onions. If someone eating your dish doesn’t like onions, it may be best to cut them up into strips, so they are easier to pick out of the dish. I do NOT recommend omitting the onions, though. They add great flavor in my opinion (though I am a big onion lover in general).

Here’s a picture of the beginning stages of the pulled pork:

I was really pleased by how the pork really did fall off the bone when it was done cooking. Overall this recipe is pretty inexpensive, not too much prep-work is required, and it’s moderately healthy.

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in 5/5 stars, Boyfriend approved, Dinner, Eganita Kitchen Approved, Main Dish, Pork. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

  1. Pingback: Pulled Pork Side Dishes — “Red” Slaw & Roasted Veggies |

Leave a Reply

