Turkey Chili

I found a basic turkey chili recipe online, mostly to help me figure out a good blend of spices. I’ve tried adding additional vegetables to the mix, and I’ve been quite pleased with the results so far.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 (28 ounce) can canned crushed tomatoes
  • 1 (16 ounce) can canned kidney beans – drained, rinsed, and mashed
  • 1 tablespoon garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions

  1. Heat the oil in a large pot over medium heat. Place turkey in the pot, and cook until evenly brown. Stir in onion, and cook until tender.
  2. Pour water into the pot. Mix in tomatoes, kidney beans, and garlic. Season chili powder, paprika, oregano, cayenne pepper, cumin, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer 30 minutes.

Source: Simple Turkey Chili

My additional notes:

  • Instead of making this on the stove as the recipe suggests, I typically cook this in my crock pot for 8-9 hours on low. Note that in times when I want the chili sooner, it has been fine to cook it on high as well (I use the general rule that 2 hours on low is equivalent to 1 hour on high).
  • I use only about 0.5 cups of water, as I like my chili to have more “GUTS” and less of a soupy consistency
  • I add one whole red pepper and one whole green pepper (diced)
  • I add about 50-75% of a can of corn kernels or a generous amount of (cooked) frozen corn
  • I didn’t have cayenne, so I substituted crushed red pepper flakes (same amount). Otherwise I used their spice guidelines exactly, and I really liked the flavor. I don’t find it to be very spicy, although my mom commented that it was a bit for her. You may want to downgrade the amount of cayenne/red pepper flakes if you don’t like any spice.
  • I didn’t use olive oil; I used fat-free olive oil spray in the pan to cook the meat. I also found that I like to season the turkey meat with rosemary and other assorted spices.
  • I add an additional can of kidney beans (I usually try to add one light and one dark red can). I don’t crush the beans, but I do drain them.
  • Next time I’d like to try adding in some celery. I may also add some stewed tomatoes or chunks of tomatoes.

Here’s how it turned out one time! This was an early batch (evident by more liquid and less vegetables than I prefer nowadays!). This is making me hungry!

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in 4/5 stars, Dinner, Eganita Kitchen Approved, Main Dish, Turkey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

