Chicken & Sun-Dried Tomato Orzo

I’m a big fan of sun-dried tomatoes, but I’ve never really cooked with them before. When I came across this recipe, I put it aside to try it.

I wasn’t planning on making any adjustments to the recipe (besides omitting the artichoke hearts), but at my local grocery store, I couldn’t find:

  • marjoram (substituted parsley)
  • whole wheat orzo (substituted whole wheat pasta)
Ingredients (serves 4)
Original Eganita Adjustment
8 ounces orzo, preferably whole-wheat 4 ounces whole-wheat rotini (I took the advice of some of the people who commented on the original recipe; they said it was too orzo heavy, so I decided to reduce the amount of pasta)
1 cup water 1 cup water
1/2 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes, (not oil-packed), divided 1/2 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes (I used a sun dried tomatoes from the“olive bar” by the deli. They weren’t exactly “oil packed”, but they were marinated in some kind of Greek flavor. I thought it worked out very well in the dish.)
1 plum tomato, diced 1 plum tomato, diced
1 clove garlic, peeled 1 clove garlic, diced
3 teaspoons chopped fresh marjoram, divided 3 teaspoons chopped fresh marjoram parsley, divided
1 tablespoon red-wine vinegar 1 tablespoon red-wine vinegar
2 teaspoons plus 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, divided 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil plus 1 tablespoon no fat extra-virgin olive oil SPRAY (I prefer to use that for the actual cooking)
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, trimmed (1-1 1/4 pounds) 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, trimmed (1-1 1/4 pounds) – I cut these into small pieces because I prefer to cook chicken that way.
1/4 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning (I was worried the chicken would be a little bland)
1 9-ounce package frozen artichoke hearts, thawed Omitted this ingredient. If someone else made this recipe, I would be happy to try it with the artichoke hearts. I didn’t feel like adding it into my dish, though.
1/2 cup finely shredded Romano cheese, divided ½ cup = 8 tablespoons. I used about 5 tablespoons of an Italian cheese blend (made with 2% milk) which was plenty for me and less calories.
Preparation
1) Cook orzo in a large saucepan of boiling water until just tender, 8 to 10 minutes or according to package directions. Drain and rinse. 1) Cook whole wheat pasta in a large saucepan of boiling water until just tender, 8 to 10 minutes or according to package directions. Drain and rinse.
2) Meanwhile, place 1 cup water, 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, plum tomato, garlic, 2 teaspoons marjoram, vinegar and 2 teaspoons oil in a blender. Blend until just a few chunks remain. 2) Meanwhile, place 1 cup water, 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, plum tomato, garlic, 2 teaspoons parsley, vinegar and 2 teaspoons oil in a blender. Blend until just a few chunks remain.
3) Season chicken with salt and pepper on both sides. Heat remaining 1 tablespoon oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the chicken and cook, adjusting the heat as necessary to prevent burning, until golden outside and no longer pink in the middle, 3 to 5 minutes per side. Transfer to a plate; tent with foil to keep warm. 3) Season chicken with salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning on both sides. Generously coat pan with fat free olive-oil spray. Add the chicken and cook, adjusting the heat as necessary to prevent burning, until golden outside and no longer pink in the middle, 3 to 5 minutes per side.
4) Pour the tomato sauce into the pan and bring to a boil. Measure out 1/2 cup sauce to a small bowl. Add the remaining 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes to the pan along with the orzo, artichoke hearts and 6 tablespoons cheese. Cook, stirring, until heated through, 1 to 2 minutes. Divide among 4 plates. 4) Pour the tomato sauce into the pan. Add the remaining 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes to the pan along with the orzo, and about 4 tablespoons cheese. Cook, stirring, until heated through, 1 to 2 minutes.
5) Slice the chicken. Top each portion of pasta with sliced chicken, 2 tablespoons of the reserved tomato sauce and a sprinkling of the remaining cheese and marjoram. 5) Store the chicken and pasta separately if you wish to store the dish for another time.

Source: Chicken & Sun-Dried Tomato Orzo

I really liked the flavors in this dish! I will definitely be making it again. I served it with a salad of greens, tomatoes (I threw in some parsley in my tomatoes since I had so much left over.. I bought a whole bunch for just three teaspoons in this dish!), and a balsamic vinaigrette that I made. It was a great lunch (and I liked it so much that I ate the same exact thing for dinner).

Combining all of the elements of the sauce in the pan:


The final product:

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in 4/5 stars, Chicken, Eganita Kitchen Approved, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

