Strawberry Salad

My mom came across a great summer salad recipe in a local newspaper. This recipe has now been approved by my mom, sister, and two of my friends! The dressing compliments the sweet flavor of the strawberries perfectly!

Ingredients
Original Eganita Adjustment
1/3 cup sugar (or sugar substitute) 1/3 cup sugar (or sugar substitute)
2/3 cup mayonnaise 2/3 cup Hellman’s original mayonnaise (next time I will try the light version. My aunt tried the recipe with Miracle Whip and said it did NOT turn out well)
2 tablespoons vinegar 4 tablespoons red wine vinegar (Neither my mom nor I is a big wine drinker, so it seemed silly to buy a whole bottle for 2 tablespoons. This substitution worked great for us!)
2 tablespoons red wine
1 tablespoon poppy seed 1 tablespoon poppy seed (I may omit these next time.. They don’t add much to the flavor for me)
1 small red onion, chopped 1 small red onion, chopped (but I will be omitting this next time. The onions were too powerful in the salad, in my opinon)
1/2 head iceberg lettuce, chopped Pre-washed mixed greens or other fancier salad variety (If I wanted to eat paper, I’d just eat paper.. I am NOT an iceberg person!)
2 small cucumbers, sliced and quartered 1 large cucumber (the pricing was PER cucumber.. So this was a no brainer)
1/2 pound (or more, if desired) strawberries, sliced 1 pound strawberries, sliced
Crumbled goat cheese (about a tablespoon or less per serving)
Preparation
Original Eganita Adjustment
1) In a bowl, whisk together sugar, mayonnaise, vinegar, red wine and poppy seed. Chill in refrigerator. 1) In a bowl, whisk together sugar, mayonnaise, vinegar, red wine and poppy seed. Chill in refrigerator.
2) When dressing is chilled, combine red onion, lettuce, cucumbers and strawberries in a large bowl. Pour dressing over salad just before serving. Or, dressing can be kept separate from salad and served to accommodate individual tastes. 2) I store all items separately, so the individual can compose the salad however he or she pleases!

Source:  Ruth Pernot’s Strawberry Salad

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in 5/5 stars, Dinner, Eganita Kitchen Approved, Side Dish, Vegetarian Friendly. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

