Healthier Honey BBQ Boneless “Wings”

My boyfriend and I both enjoy wings, so when I came across this Hungry Girl recipe for BBQ wings (BF favorite), I was all over it! I think this is an excellent base recipe, but I may experiment with the sauce. I love a tangy/hot sauce from a local wing place (conveniently located right near where we play hockey), and I’d like to take a shot at re-creating that as well.

I didn’t trust HG at first; I doubled the sauce recipe since the original amount looked a little skimpy. We ended up not using the excess, though, so next time, I will just trust the expert 🙂

Ingredients
Original Eganita Adjustment
1/4 cup whole-wheat flour 1/4 cup whole-wheat flour
1/8 tsp. each salt and black pepper 1/8 tsp. each salt and black pepper
8 oz. raw boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 16 nuggets 8 oz. raw boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 16 nuggets (I actually had 18.. This doesn’t have to be exact)
2 tbsp. fat-free liquid egg substitute (like Egg Beaters Original) 2 tbsp. fat-free liquid egg substitute (like Egg Beaters Original)
1/4 cup BBQ sauce with 45 calories or less per 2-tbsp. serving 1/4 cup BBQ sauce with 45 calories or less per 2-tbsp. serving (I used Jack Daniels Original #7 sauce)
1 tbsp. honey 1 tbsp. honey
2 tsp. Frank’s RedHot Original Cayenne Pepper Sauce 2 tsp. Frank’s RedHot Original (I had the original on-hand, so that’s what I used) – done the first time. Now I typically only use about 1/2-2/3 of the original hot sauce level, as that is boyfriend preferred and still tastes fine to me. The full level of hot sauce would probably be too spicy for some people.
1/8 tsp. garlic powder, or more to taste Between 1/8 and 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
Directions
Original Eganita Adjustment
1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray. 1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray (I used my fat free olive oil spray).
2) In a wide bowl, mix flour, salt, and black pepper. 2) In a wide bowl, mix flour, salt, and black pepper.
3) Place chicken nuggets in a large bowl, top with egg substitute, and toss to coat. 3) Place chicken nuggets in a large bowl, top with egg substitute, and toss to coat.
4) One at a time, shake nuggets to remove excess egg and coat with seasoned flour. Evenly lay on the baking sheet. 4) One at a time, shake nuggets to remove excess egg and coat with seasoned flour. Evenly lay on the baking sheet.Update: I’ve found it’s best to use a few smaller bowls to do this (if you double or quadruple the recipe, at least). Otherwise, the flour mixture gets kind of gross and clumpy.
5) Bake for 10 minutes. Flip chicken. Bake until outsides are lightly browned and chicken is cooked through, about 6 minutes. 5) Bake for 10 minutes. Flip chicken. Bake until outsides are lightly browned and chicken is cooked through, about 8 minutes (Another 2 minutes helped the chicken get a nice light brown color on the outside).
6) In another large bowl, thoroughly whisk BBQ sauce, honey, hot sauce, and garlic powder. Add cooked nuggets and toss to coat. Eat up! 6) In another large bowl, thoroughly whisk BBQ sauce, honey, hot sauce, and garlic powder. Add cooked nuggets and toss to coat. Eat up!

Source: Honey BBQ Goodness (by Hungry Girl)

Serving Size: 1/2 of recipe (8 wings)
Calories: 264 Fat: 2g Sodium: 788mg Carbs: 31g Fiber: 1.5g Sugars: 16.5g Protein: 29.5g
Before After

Update on 7/12/2012: This has become a boyfriend favorite, though he asked me to scale back on the hot sauce just a bit (when I quadrupled the recipe, I used 6 teaspoons of hot sauce instead of the 8 the recipe calls for). I was happy to oblige! I think I will be making this recipe quite often!

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in 5/5 stars, Chicken, Dinner, Eganita Kitchen Approved, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

