Southwestern Calico Corn

I’m making chicken tacos (I’ve done all of the prep work, but I haven’t cooked them yet), so I wanted to find a nice side dish to go along with them.  I thought this recipe seemed easy (and it actually was!) and flavorful and would pair well with some chicken tacos (hopefully I’ll also be writing a positive review on that topic!).

Ingredients
Original Eganita Adjustment
1 tablespoon canola oil 1 tablespoon olive oil
1 poblano pepper, diced 1 poblano pepper, diced
1 small red bell pepper, diced 1 small red bell pepper, diced
2 cups fresh corn kernels 2 cups frozen  corn kernels in steamer bag (I’m sure it would be better with fresh corn, but I was feeling lazy). I heated the corn up in the microwave for 4 minutes. Next time, I think 3 will be good, as the corn can finish de-thawing in the pan.
1 teaspoon chili powder 1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon salt
1 14-ounce can hominy, rinsed (see Ingredient Note) 1 14-ounce can hominy, rinsed (used golden hominy, found near the beans in Giant Eagle. I couldn’t find any in the Mexican section, as the link below suggested)
Preparation
Original Eganita Adjustment
1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add poblano pepper, bell pepper and corn, and cook, stirring occasionally, until just tender, 3 to 5 minutes. Stir in chili powder, cumin and salt; cook for 30 seconds more. Add hominy and cook, stirring, until heated through, about 2 minutes more. 1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add poblano pepper, bell pepper and corn, and cook, stirring occasionally, until just tender, 3 to 5 minutes. Stir in chili powder, cumin and salt; cook for 30 seconds more. Add hominy and cook, stirring, until heated through, about 2 minutes more.

Source: Southwestern Calico Corn Recipe

Please don’t be a dummy like me… I chopped up the Poblano pepper for this recipe and the Jalapeños for the taco recipe soon before I needed to put my contacts in… Yeah, hopefully I’ve learned my lesson (though I sadly think I did the same thing a couple of years ago). My eyes were on FIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIRE. Poor BF had to reach in my eyeball to remove my contact (Great visual, right? You’re welcome!).

Anyway, this was very yummy! I expect to like it even more paired with my tacos (today, I just ate it with some grilled chicken).  I am going to wear gloves next time I chop up any kind of hot peppers, though!

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in 5/5 stars, Eganita Kitchen Approved, Side Dish, Vegetarian Friendly. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Southwestern Calico Corn

  1. theorbo says:

    Sounds great! Sorry to hear about the contacts and hot pepper fiasco. glad you were ok!

    • eganita eats says:

      I really enjoyed it! It paired well with my tacos (I’ll post the recipe for them soon!) and also something simpler like my grilled chicken from the first day.

      That’s ok about the eyes, though it was pretty rough! Do you wear gloves to handle peppers? Those stinkin’ seeds! The actual dishes weren’t even very spicy, once the seeds were out of the equation (and into my eyeballs! :P)

  2. Pingback: Chicken Tacos with Charred Tomatoes |

Leave a Reply

