Chicken Tacos with Charred Tomatoes

I was in the mood for some Mexican flavor the other week, so I found a recipe for chicken tacos on one of my current favorite sites:  Eating Well I actually found the Southwestern Calico Corn recipe after the taco recipe (though I posted the corn recipe first on my blog.. the tacos were so jealous!)

I found the below recipe to be fairly easy to make and contain some great flavor. I did have an issue in preparing the tomato though; I ended up burning one of my new pans! Oh well – the thing still works, and now I don’t have to worry about ruining a new pan the next time I make this (I’ll just try to burn the same spots on the same pan!)

Ingredients
Original Eganita Adjustment
2 plum tomatoes, cored 2 plum tomatoes, cored (Note that I cored them prior to charring them.. But it seems coring them after charring may make more sense, based on the rest of the recipe
8 ounces boneless, skinless chicken breast, trimmed of fat 8 ounces boneless, skinless chicken breast, trimmed of fat
1/4 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon freshly ground pepper 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
2 teaspoons canola oil, divided Fat free olive oil spray
1/2 cup finely chopped white onion 1/2 cup finely chopped white onion
1 clove garlic, minced 1 clove garlic, minced
1 small jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced 1 small jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced (Be careful.. I think I am going to wear gloves next time! DO NOT touch your eyes even within a couple of hours of handling these peppers!)
2 teaspoons lime juice, plus lime wedges for garnish 2 teaspoons lime juice (I bought a bottle of lime juice, not the real limes)
2 teaspoons chopped fresh cilantro 2 teaspoons chopped fresh cilantro
2 scallions, chopped 2 scallions, chopped
6 small corn tortillas, heated (see Tip) 6 small corn tortillas, heated
Directions
Original Eganita Adjustment
1) Heat a medium skillet over high heat until very hot. Add tomatoes and cook, turning occasionally with tongs, until charred on all sides, 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer to a plate to cool slightly. Cut the tomatoes in half crosswise; squeeze to discard seeds. Remove cores and chop the remaining pulp and skin. 1) Heat a medium skillet over high heat until very hot. Add tomatoes and cook, turning occasionally with tongs, until charred on all sides, 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer to a plate to cool slightly. If tomatoes are not already cored, cut the tomatoes and remove cores and excess seeds and pulp. NOTE: I had issues with this step and almost ruined a pan. Be careful if you follow this step! I may or may not use this strategy next time. If I still had a gas stove, I would just roast the tomatoes over the open flame!
2) Cut chicken into 1-inch chunks; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Add 1 teaspoon oil to the pan and heat over high heat until very hot. Add the chicken and cook, stirring occasionally, until it is browned and no longer pink in the middle, 3 to 5 minutes. Transfer to a plate. 2) Cut chicken into 1-inch chunks; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Spray pan with fat free olive oil spray and heat over high heat until very hot. Add the chicken and cook, stirring occasionally, until it is browned and no longer pink in the middle, 3 to 5 minutes. Transfer to a plate.
3) Reduce the heat to medium and add the remaining 1 teaspoon oil. Add onion and cook, stirring, until softened, about 2 minutes. Add garlic and jalapeño and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add lime juice, the chicken and tomatoes. Cook, stirring, until heated through, 1 to 2 minutes. Stir in cilantro and scallions. Divide the chicken mixture among tortillas. Serve with lime wedges. 3) Reduce the heat to medium and spray pan with fat free olive oil spray. Add onion and cook, stirring, until softened, about 2 minutes. Add garlic and jalapeño and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add lime juice, the chicken and tomatoes. Cook, stirring, until heated through, 1 to 2 minutes. Stir in cilantro and scallions. Divide the chicken mixture among tortillas.

Source: Chicken Tacos with Charred Tomatoes

I decided to add a little low-fat Cilantro dressing from Trader Joe’s onto my tacos and loved it. I also think a touch of sour cream would be yummy. I think next time I would serve with lime wedges as the recipe suggested, as well.

In Progress!

Final product, served with Southwestern Calico Corn!

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in 4/5 stars, Chicken, Dinner, Eganita Kitchen Approved, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

