Healthy Mexican Lasagna

Here’s another Hungry Girl recipe which I enjoy. I also do like traditional Italian lasagna, but it was nice to mix it up a bit. I thought this recipe was pretty easy to make, and the end result was tasty.

Ingredients
Original Eganita Adjustment
1 cup frozen corn kernels, thawed 1 cup frozen corn kernels, thawed (I like the steam in bag ones the best, though they are a little pricier)
One 10-oz. can diced tomatoes with green chiles, drained One 10-oz. can diced tomatoes with green chiles, drained (This was easy-to-find in the canned area of the store, by the other tomato products. I always try to buy the low sodium versions when available)
Five 6-inch corn tortillas Five 6-inch corn tortillas (I’ve discovered recently that I highly prefer corn tortillas to flour.. I think the corn ones have more flavor and are still pretty low calorie).
1 1/2 cups frozen ground-beef-style soy crumbles (like the kind by Boca or Morningstar Farms) I substituted Trader Joe’s soy chorizo for some extra flavor and a bit of spice. The calorie count is a bit higher in the end, but I thought it was worth it! I think low-calorie ground beef or turkey would work fine as well (make sure to cook the meat before adding, though).
2 tsp. taco seasoning mix I omitted this since the soy chorizo had enough flavor on its own. I would include this if I used ground beef or the ground beef crumbles that HG used in her recipe, though.
1 cup finely chopped red bell pepper 1 cup finely chopped red bell pepper (I think this was about one medium/large pepper)
1 cup finely chopped green bell pepper 1 cup finely chopped green bell pepper (I think this was about one medium/large pepper)
1 cup finely chopped onion 1 cup finely chopped onion (about one medium/large onion)
1 cup canned fat-free refried beans 1 cup canned fat-free refried beans (I did make with these beans, but I am not a huge fan of them. I think I’ll use black or pinto beans next time, instead. If you like refried beans, though, go for it. I still liked the recipe with them in it, but I would love it with a substitute, I think)
1 cup enchilada sauce 1 cup enchilada sauce (I just bought a reasonably priced one with decent calorie stats)
1 cup shredded reduced-fat Mexican-blend cheese 1 cup shredded reduced-fat Mexican-blend cheese
Optional toppings: fat-free sour cream, salsa I do not consider these as optional toppings! I used fat free sour cream, a sweet pineapple salsa (which was ok, but I may try something different next time.. even a tomatillo one would be good), and some cilantro to freshen things up.
Directions
Original Eganita Adjustment
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8″ X 8″ baking pan with nonstick spray. 1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8″ X 8″ baking pan with nonstick spray.
2) In a medium bowl, mix corn kernels with the drained diced tomatoes with chiles. Cut each tortilla into 4 wedges for a total of 20 wedges. 2) In a medium bowl, mix corn kernels with the drained diced tomatoes with chiles. Cut each tortilla into 4 wedges for a total of 20 wedges.
3) Bring a large skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium-high heat. Add soy crumbles and sprinkle with taco seasoning. Cook and stir until well mixed and hot, 2 – 3 minutes. 3) Bring a large skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium-high heat. Add soy chorizo. Cook and stir until well mixed and hot, 2 – 3 minutes.
4) Transfer soy crumbles to a second medium bowl. Remove skillet from heat. Clean skillet, if needed. Re-spray and return to medium-high heat. 4) Transfer soy chorizo to a second medium bowl. Remove skillet from heat. Clean skillet, if needed. Re-spray and return to medium-high heat.
5) Add bell peppers and onion to the skillet, and cook and stir until slightly soft, 6 – 8 minutes. 5) Add bell peppers and onion to the skillet, and cook and stir until slightly soft, 6 – 8 minutes.
6) Remove skillet from heat. Add beans and mix well. 6) Remove skillet from heat. Add beans and mix well (again, will probably not use refried beans again.. they just look so yucky to me! They make the beautiful peppers and onions look so brown and tired!
7) Evenly spread and layer half of each ingredient in the baking pan: veggie-bean mixture, corn-tomato mixture, soy crumbles, tortilla wedges, enchilada sauce, and cheese. Repeat layering with remaining ingredients. 7) Evenly spread and layer half of each ingredient in the baking pan: veggie-bean mixture, corn-tomato mixture, soy chorizo, tortilla wedges, enchilada sauce, and cheese. Repeat layering with remaining ingredients.
8) Bake until lasagna is hot and cheese has melted, about 25 minutes. Eat up! 8) Bake until lasagna is hot and cheese has melted, about 25 minutes. Eat up!

Serving size: 1/6 of recipe
Source: Lasagna Gets Mexi-ified!
Here are some photos of the different stages of the dish. I wish I took a photo of the final product… next time, next time!

Step 2!

Step 5 or so.. right before the veg made it to the pan! I like how colorful the dish is.

At the end of Step 7! The only thing left is to bake the stuff!

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in 4/5 stars, Dinner, Eganita Kitchen Approved, Main Dish, Vegetarian Friendly. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

