Mediterranean Roasted Broccoli & Tomatoes

Broccoli and tomatoes are two of my favorite vegetables, so I was happy to find a side dish incorporating both as main ingredients. On a side note, I wasn’t sure if I should call tomatoes fruits or vegetables, as I’ve seen them classified both ways. I was surprised to read that the Supreme Court declared tomatoes as vegetables! Who knew this debate would make it to the highest court?

Ingredients
Original Eganita Adjustment
12 ounces broccoli crowns, trimmed and cut into bite-size florets (about 4 cups) About 4 cups bite-sized broccoli florets. Note that a head of broccoli yields about 4-5 cups, so that’s what I have been using lately. Giant Eagle also sells bags of broccoli florets which is about the right amount and what I had been using in the beginning. The last time I bought them, though, the bag was ROTTEN, so I don’t think I will buy them again. I will save some money and put in just a few minutes of time to cut up the broccoli myself.
1 cup grape tomatoes 1 cup grape tomatoes (a pint of grape tomatoes is more than enough. I usually buy one of those and then use the remaining grape tomatoes in a salad)
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced 2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated lemon zest 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated lemon zest (I usually just buy one lemon.. it’s plenty for the required amount of zest and juice. I then typically just use the leftover lemon for cooking chicken).
1 tablespoon lemon juice 1 tablespoon lemon juice (I usually just buy one lemon.. it’s plenty for the required amount of zest and juice. I then typically just use the leftover lemon for cooking chicken).
10 pitted black olives, sliced Omitted – I am not a big fan of olives
1 teaspoon dried oregano 1 teaspoon dried oregano
2 teaspoons capers, rinsed (optional) Also omitted.. I would be curious to try this sometime, but honestly, I didn’t even know where to find this stuff in the store.. haha! I love the recipe without the olives and capers so will probably stick to that for the time being.
Directions
Original Eganita Adjustment
1) Preheat oven to 450°F. 1) Preheat oven to 450°F.
2) Toss broccoli, tomatoes, oil, garlic and salt in a large bowl until evenly coated. Spread in an even layer on a baking sheet. Bake until the broccoli begins to brown, 10 to 13 minutes. 2) Toss broccoli, tomatoes, oil, garlic and salt in a large bowl until evenly coated. Spread in an even layer on a baking sheet. Bake until the broccoli begins to brown, 10 to 13 minutes.
3) Meanwhile, combine lemon zest and juice, olives, oregano and capers (if using) in a large bowl. Add the roasted vegetables; stir to combine. Serve warm. 3) Meanwhile, combine lemon zest and juice and oregano in a large bowl. Add the roasted vegetables; stir to combine. Serve warm.

Serving size: about 1 cup. Recipe makes about 4 cups.
Source: Mediterranean Roasted Broccoli & Tomatoes

Here it is, pre-roast! YUM YUM YUM!

About eganita eats

Current top interests: sports, cooking, video games, music, and running!
This entry was posted in 5/5 stars, Dinner, Eganita Kitchen Approved, Side Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

